top of page
  • Writer's pictureAndrea Pulido

The House in the Cerulean Sea

If ever there was a novel that could be described as total perfection then this would definitely have to be it.

The House in the Cerulean Sea by TJ Klune is a gorgeous contemporary fiction / fantasy novel that has us following the story of Linus Baker as he falls in love with life again and acquires an unexpected family in the most unexpected way. This magical story is filled with rich characters that are well-developed and that demonstrate a full range of complex emotions despite their ages. The individuals we meet are funny, broken, resilient, loving, shy, and courageous...sometimes even all at once. Klune does a phenomenal job of getting us to understand how trauma manifests and how even an ounce of love and care can go a long way in helping someone overcome adversity.


I must be completely honest, this novel made me feel a whole spectrum of emotions. There were times where the tears blurred my vision and times where my laughter woke my husband. There were scenes that made my blood boil and others that melted and warmed my heart. On the surface this may appear to be a cute fantasy novel, and yes it’s that but so much more. It is also a powerful story that is packed with a very emotional commentary on sexuality, xenophobia, depression, systemic segregation, discrimination, and oppression. While it tackles these challenging subjects it also shows us the importance of unconditional love, acceptance, family, belonging, representation, and most importantly of speaking up. Without being too on-the-nose, the author shows us how to be true allies and reminds us that even one voice can make a difference. All it takes is a little courage.


Furthermore, this novel was a fantastic example of what representation truly looks like for many in marginalized communities. These are the kinds of stories I want to read about and watch on the tv. These are the kinds of stories that I want my nephews to grow up reading and that I wish were openly discussed in schools. During the novel, I truly felt what Linus and Arthur felt. I felt their love, their loss, their hopes, and their dreams. That they happened to be queer was amazing!! Truly, what I loved most was the message of connecting with people as people. That individuals aren't just one thing (i.e., black, white, straight, queer, christian, muslim, poor, rich, etc.) and therefore we should not be strictly define by the prejudiced preconceptions surrounding the labels we carry. Rather, we should recognize that intersectionality is real and it affects the way we move about the world. We must learn to see people for who they truly are and recognize that they are so much more than just one label, while also understanding that these labels are crucial to individuals from those communities and we should do more to humble ourselves so that we can learn from them. Only once we are able to do both and do it well can we eradicate the fear of the 'other' and move towards a more inclusive, diverse, and equitable society.


By the end of this novel, I felt so alive and filled with genuine emotion that I struggled with the realization that the book was over. The last 100 pages had me oscillating between laughter and tears. I wasn’t ready to let go of these beautiful characters just yet but I am so glad that I went on this journey with them. Once it was over, all I could do was hug this book and sit with my feelings. Only then, did I truly understand how monumental this novel had been for me. As a straight woman of color, I could recognize how impactful this novel was for me, so I can't begin to imagine what this would mean for members of the LGBTQIA+ community.


If you haven’t read this novel, please check it out it is a phenomenal piece of literature.


...............................................................................................................................................


Linus Baker is a by-the-book case worker in the Department in Charge of Magical Youth. He's tasked with determining whether six dangerous magical children are likely to bring about the end of the world.


Arthur Parnassus is the master of the orphanage. He would do anything to keep the children safe, even if it means the world will burn. And his secrets will come to light.


The House in the Cerulean Sea is an enchanting love story, masterfully told, about the profound experience of discovering an unlikely family in an unexpected place―and realizing that family is yours.

Recent Posts

See All

Circe

LORE

bottom of page