top of page
  • Writer's pictureAndrea Pulido

Milk Fed

In an attempt to read outside of my comfort zone, I decided to check out Milk Fed. I had never read anything by Melissa Broder, so I was unsure as to what I was going to find.



Overall, I am glad that I read this book, even if it is not an instant favorite for me. This was a challenging read, partly because the topics covered were challenging and partly because it was just a tad too Freudian for my taste.


I felt that this novel was the strongest when it dealt with Rachel’s eating disorder and her sexuality. The very raw representation of body dysmorphia and the struggles that these individuals face was expertly demonstrated across the pages of this book. Additionally, I really enjoyed the sassy and quirky writing style of the novel, even if at times the writing was crude but necessary.


I even enjoyed the hints of innocence in the romance with Miriam; however, I struggled a bit with the way that Rachel sometimes objectified people and at times even ventured into fetishizing Miriam for her obesity. While I think this might have been meant as a commentary on the constant objectification of women that is widely accepted in our society, it made me uncomfortable.


Ultimately, I think my struggle boiled down to my inability to connect with the protagonist. She was on a path to growth and self-discovery that was beautiful and necessary but at times she made decisions that trampled others with little regard for their wishes and feelings and this caused me to feel at odds with her.


Overall, I think this is a solid story (3.5 stars) and I do recommend people read it. The story touches on a lot of important topics like mental health, healthy boundaries, sexuality, and religion…and I think a lot of people can benefit from reading more stories with flawed characters even if they don’t walk away loving them.


*I would like to thank Netgalley and the publishers for a free copy of Milk Fed, which I received for free in return for an honest review.

Recent Posts

See All

Circe

LORE

bottom of page